I have an Office Job

I am the best at making excuses for myself. I have an office job, I quit smoking, and I am on birth control – all things that are known to make you gain weight.However, those are not reasons that I should be ok with my weight, only reasons to work harder.

The other day during a kick boxing class, I partnered up with an older woman who I see often at my gym. She is in amazing shape and I always see her giving her all on every workout. While we were partnered, she shared with me that she felt like she was getting weaker with age and was working to gain her strength back. She went on the tell me that she has arthritis in various points in her body. Her thumbs are so bad that it is extremely difficult for her to grip dumbbells or kettlebells during work outs. She also pulled her hamstring so badly a year or so ago that she had to have her leg bent at 90 degree angle for four months straight. Yet, after all of those things, she is there. She is giving her all and she is working hard towards her goals. Honestly, when seeing her work out, you wouldn’t think that any of those things were possible.

Hearing stories like that just makes me feel silly about my excuses to be fat. I haven’t ever had to go through the amount of paint that woman goes through on a daily basis and I am no where near in as great of shape as she is. I haven’t had to completely lose the mobility of one of my legs and yet I do not work nearly as hard as her to strengthen them. She pushes herself as if nothing is wrong. I find that beyond amazing and hope to match her drive someday.

Yes, there are things in my life that do not help me in my weight loss journey. but other people in my situation are still healthy. So, why can’t II be healthy in my situation as well?

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | wellenoughisnotwellenough@gmail.com

 

Leave a comment